You Love Your Body, Why Can’t I Love Mine?

what’s the greatest lesson a woman should learn? 

that since day one, she’s already had everything she needs within herself. it’s the world that convinced her she did not.

-Rupi Kaur

Do I consider myself a feminist? Of course.  But what kind of feminist? The kind that wholeheartedly believes that a woman (or anyone, actually) should make their own choices based on what makes them happy as an individual.  If you are happy, then who cares what anyone else says? Obviously, this goes within limits.  You shouldn’t hurt yourself or others, nor should you allow others to hurt you.  That is not healthy happiness.  I believe in healthy happiness.

Which brings me to the point of this post.  Why do we all feel the need to be constantly tearing each other down? I just don’t understand it.  Why can’t we love not only ourselves, but each other as well?  When I see body positivity posts, they are usually posts about how the opposite body type isn’t the “right” body type, but promote loving yourself no matter what.  Is this not hypocritical? Let me tell you something right now.  Whether you are black, white, brown, purple, green; whether you are tall, short, in-between; whether you are skinny, thick, chubby, muscular, or whatever else, YOU. SHOULD. LOVE. YOURSELF.

If part of loving yourself means eating what you please whenever you please, by all means go for it! But that is for you to do for yourself, not for you to tell everyone else to do.

If part of loving yourself means eating mainly fruits, vegetables, or whatever else, by all means go for it! But that is for you to do for yourself, not for you to tell everyone else to do.

If part of loving yourself means never working out because of x or y reason, by all means go for it! But that is for you to do for yourself, not for you to tell everyone else to do.

If part of loving yourself means working out every day, by all means go for it! But that is for you to do for yourself, not for you to tell everyone else to do.

Each person is different, and each person can and should love themselves for many, many reasons.

Why am I a vegetarian? Because bringing harm to animals and the environment personally does not make me happy whatsoever.  Eating mainly fruits and veggies makes my conscious and my body feel amazing. Will I tell my boyfriend, family, friends, or anyone else with ears that they HAVE to feel ashamed for not being a vegetarian? Of course not.  It is possible to co-exist with people of differing beliefs and lifestyles.  I may occasionally tell you about the benefits of a majorly plant-based diet, but never will I ever shame you for being different from me.

Why do I workout? Because it makes me feel amazing! I was never ashamed of my body.  I love wearing short shorts and crop tops and letting it all hang out (within reason, decided by myself, not anyone else). However, since I started working out, I have noticed amazing changes within my body.  Before, I was happy with the way I looked.  Now I am even more happy with the way I look, plus I feel so much happier!!! Exercise, for some people, helps alleviate the symptoms of depression, which I have. However, I will NEVER tell anyone how to live their life.  If they are perfectly happy with never working out, that’s great! I will support them through it all. Why? Because I make decisions for no one but myself. What makes ME happy is exercise and a healthy, plant-based diet, but of course I take a few days off and of course I have days where I eat nothing but junk food, because this is what makes me happiest.  I am a firm believe that YOU should do what makes YOU happy.

So, through this whole rant, the bottom line is that we need to love ourselves without making other people feel like they shouldn’t love themselves for any reason at all.

I love and support myself, and I love and support everyone else in their lifestyle choices.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

