“Buttered” Noodles W/ Chickpeas and Kale

Speaking of carbs…yum!!

So before you peruse any recipes I may post, just know that when I make something up on the fly (like this dish), I don’t follow any recipe, I just throw things together until they taste good. So! For dinner tonight I made my boyfriend and I this noodle bowl consisting of:

Whole-grain noodles, cooked

-Once the noodles were finished, I drained the water out then mixed in vegan butter (Melt brand), salt, garlic parmesan popcorn seasoning (I use popcorn seasoning on soooo many things that aren’t popcorn), and basil

Kale and chickpeas

-Sauteed in a little bit of olive oil

-Added salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and chili powder

Finally I threw it all together and mixed it up.  If I had more kale on hand I would have added more because kale is nutritious and delicious, but alas I ran out today.  I try to eat a lot of leafy greens now that I no longer eat meat.  Iron is a really important nutrient, and meat eaters get quite a bit of iron from red meat.  More in one sitting than they really need.  Leafy greens are loaded with iron too, which is why I try to eat a lot.  I can easily get my daily value by eating some greens in one or two meals a day, I just have to make sure I don’t get lazy and actually eat them.

If any of you are thinking of going vegetarian or vegan, feel free to ask me any questions you have! I did a lot of research before officially giving up meat, so I have some handy dandy knowledge I would love to share. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

