#NaPoWriMo

In honor of National Poetry Writing Month, I posted my first ever poem that I wrote just now!

I also wanted to share my favorite work of poetry: “Milk and Honey” by Rupi Kaur.

img_2823_article_large

I’ll be honest, I was never super into poetry, but she completely introduced me to a whole new world.  A world I want to learn more about and explore; the world of poetry.  As of right now, Rupi Kaur is my favorite poet, but she is also the only poet I know.

“Milk and Honey” is absolutely beautiful.  If you’ve never read it, do it.  You won’t regret it.  It is broken up into segments.  The gist of each segment is the before, the during, and the after a breakup.  Or multiple breakups.  Open to interpretation, probably.  It goes through the love, the heartbreak, and the healing.  Each poem is so raw and real.  As someone who has experienced good and bad heartbreaks, as well as other…experiences…with people who take things they did not get permission to take from me, the whole entire book touched me personally.  My favorite poem out of the book is all you own is yourself

“let it go

let it leave

let it happen

nothing

in this world

was promised or

belonged to you

anyway”

It sounds dark, but this poem opened my eyes.  No matter what I do or how I act, I don’t control anything.  Nothing belongs to me anyway.  People can walk out.  They can mistreat me or other people I love.  Whatever happens, happens.  The only thing I can control is me and my reactions.  I have learned to stop trying to control everything and just let things/people go, let things/people happen, and let things/people leave.  Everything will fall into place eventually.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

